How does the Equality Act 2010 promote safeguarding and protection?

This law protects people from discrimination, harassment, or victimization in employment, and as users of private and public services based on nine protected characteristics: age, disability, gender reassignment, marriage and civil partnership, pregnancy and maternity, race, religion, belief, sex, veganism and …

How does equality relate to safeguarding?

The Equality Act 2010 provides legal protection for people against discrimination in the workplace and in wider society. It replaces previous anti-discrimination legislation with a single law, making the law easier to understand and, in some circumstances, more protective.

What are the 3 main purposes of the Equality Act 2010?

Eliminates discrimination. We advance equality of opportunity. It promotes good relations between different groups of people in carrying out their activities.

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  What is the latest version of MI security?

What are the main points of the Equality Act 2010?

The law makes it illegal to discriminate against someone because of any of these characteristics: age, disability, gender reassignment, marriage or civil partnership, pregnancy and childbirth, race, religion/belief, sex (gender), or sexual orientation. These are often referred to as protected characteristics.

What are the advantages of the Equality Act 2010?

The Equality Act 2010 replaces existing anti-identification laws with a single law. It simplifies the law, removes inconsistencies, and makes it easier for people to understand and follow. It also strengthens the law in important ways to help tackle discrimination and inequality.

How does the Equality Act relate to safeguarding children and adults?

The Equality Act protects children and young people in different areas of work. For example, when using work or private services (transport, housing, membership clubs, etc.); in education and training; applying for or applying to work.

How does the Equality Act prevent abuse?

Discriminatory practices are fundamental to the ethical foundation of the provision of care and critical to the protection of people’s dignity. The Equality Act protects people receiving care and the workers who provide it from being treated unfairly because of any characteristic protected under the law.

What are the 9 protected characteristics of the Equality Act?

There are nine protected characteristics under the Equality Act.

  • Year.
  • Disability.
  • Gender reassignment.
  • Marriage and civil partnership.
  • Pregnancy and childbirth.
  • Race.
  • Religion or belief.
  • Sex.

Why is the Equality Act 2010 important in health and social care?

The Equality Act 2010 provides a legal framework that can support the personalization of adult social care. Both are to ensure that individuals receive respectful, effective and accessible services. It is essential that care providers in all sectors understand their impact.

How does the Equality Act 2010 affect my work?

The Equality Act 2010 protects you from discrimination in the workplace at all stages of employment. This includes recruitment, terms and conditions of employment, training, pay and benefits, promotion and relocation opportunities, dismissal or redundancy.

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  Is data security an ethical issue?

How does the Equality Act promote inclusion?

The Equality Act states that schools must not discriminate in their admissions policies or in the way they give pupils access to benefits, facilities or services, including school trips. Schools must make reasonable adjustments to ensure that there is no discrimination.

How does the Equality Act 2010 affect customer service?

The law prohibits discrimination by service providers during the provision of services. This includes discrimination regarding the conditions under which services are provided, termination of services, and subjecting a person to other harm.

How is equality and diversity promoted in health care?

We provide person-centered care and work in a non-judgmental manner. Employees should be encouraged to value diversity and respect the attributes that make people different. Care plans should be personalized to reflect each individual’s likes and dislikes, personal history, and beliefs.

What is the difference between protection and safeguarding?

In short, protection is what we do to prevent harm, but child protection is how we respond to harm.

How do you promote safeguarding?

What are the six principles of protection?

  1. Empowerment. People are supported and encouraged to make their own decisions and give informed consent.
  2. Prevention. It is better to take action before harm occurs.
  3. Proportionality. The least intrusive response appropriate to the risks presented.
  4. Protection.
  5. Partnership.
  6. Accountability.

Why was the Equality Act 2010 introduced?

Ten years ago, the Labour government introduced the Equality Act 2010 to consolidate and strengthen the laws protecting people from discrimination and disadvantage. The Equality Act 2010 replaced several previous laws and made it easier for everyone to understand their rights.

How does the Equality Act 2010 affect early years settings?

The Equality Act 2010 requires settings to make “reasonable adjustments” to ensure that people with protected characteristics are not at a disadvantage. To do this, the setting must consider Policy and practice – Physical characteristics of the setting – Need for assisted aids or other devices.

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  How do I turn on McAfee VPN on my Iphone?

How does equality relate to health and social care?

What is meant by equality in health and social care? Equality recognizes diversity and seeks to provide the same opportunities and access to health treatment and social care regardless of race, color, gender, age or mental or physical health.

Why is equality and diversity important in the NHS?

By investing in a diverse NHS workforce, as a Trust we can provide more inclusive services and improve patient care. Equality is about creating a fairer society where everyone has the opportunity to fulfill their potential. Diversity, in its broadest sense, is about recognizing and respecting differences.

What are the 9 protected characteristics NHS?

These include Age, gender, sexual orientation, gender reassignment, marriage and civil partnerships, disability, pregnancy and childbirth, race, religion or belief.

How can NHS promote equality and diversity in the workplace?

Raising Awareness.

  1. Leadership, systems, and culture change to create an inclusive workplace.
  2. Continuous improvement is made to ensure non-discriminatory services and workplaces.
  3. Improving outcomes for protected groups across the health system.

What does CSC stand for in safeguarding?

Communication of concerns from the referring agency to Children’s Social Care (CSC) is a critical step in initiating a child protection response.

What does Patch stand for in safeguarding?

PATCH) Suspect. Protection plan – a record of the Mechanisms to protect adults. At risk within a formal referral.

How does safeguarding protect vulnerable adults?

Protecting vulnerable adults involves helping people take control of their lives while reducing or preventing the risk of serious harm from neglect or abuse.

What is safeguarding and why is it important?

Safeguarding is an important process that protects children and adults from harm, abuse, and neglect. The safety and health of adults and children who come into contact with services provided by schools and workplaces is critical.